Editing the Coastlines Tutorial

• This tutorial assumes some knowledge in using Nick Hod's "AeroScenery". I'm no expert by the way and the little knowledge that I have gained has been due to burning a lot of midnight oil and drinking lots of tea, very British.:)

La Gomera Island I have used for this tutorial.

My settings in "AeroScenery"

On completion of the image downloads you need to open your photo editor, I use the FREE Paint.Net which works perfectly OK.

You then import the "stitched images" from the download map folder created by !AeroScenery".

Then the editing begins.

Set the colours to edit to R=10, G=20 and B=30.

Unedited Images.

Using the paintbrush these are the edited images.

The above shows the process of editing and on completion save the changes.

Once you have edited all the images of the download you can then process the scenery in "AeroScenery" using "Run GeoConvert".

To save hard drive space I delete all the files leaving only the "geoconvert ttc" files in the map folders.

Best wishes, Michael :)

Edited 6 times, last by IZ0JUB (January 22, 2020 at 11:33 AM).

• IZ0JUB May 11, 2019 at 10:10 PM

Changed the title of the thread from “Editing the Coastlines in "AeroScenery" Tutorial” to “Editing the Coastlines Tutorial”.
  • Michael, you are my hero!

Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us.
    This is help for self-help!

Confucius says: "Give a man a fish and you feed him for one day. Teaching a man to fish and you feed him for his life".

Thank you for all your tireless work here.

Kindest Regards,

Jakob.

• Micheal, can thank you for this. Can you share a bit of knowledge around OSM. I see that your toc files from the Canaries are much smaller than those i create. I tried to get Cold Lake done yesterday, ends up in being 3.3 GB for a couple of trees ;)

X-Plane 12.x | DCS 2.5.7 | War Thunder | Aerofly FS4