Can we hope for manually tunable nav frequencies in big planes in the near future?

• I hope it can be possible to manually set a vor/ils freq in the A320 soon.
    It would be nice to do this if i want to leave the flightplan and fly to an alternate airport.
    This is done in the real A320 via the mcdu rad/nav page or via one of the rmp panels pushing the nav button and inserting a freq.

Jan do you think this is "easily" doable, or does it require major work?

• Jan may wish to speak on this a bit more detailed but in general, more functionality will be added as development continues.

IPACS Development Team Member

I'm just a cook, I don't own the restaurant.
    On behalf of Torsten, Marc, and the rest of the IPACS team, we would all like to thank you for your continued support.

Regards,

Jeff

• Hi,

it's not easy because we don't have a scratchpad implemented yet or a variable that can parse a string input into a frequency. Once we have that, sure. I expect that the RAD/NAV page of the MCDU would be one of the first pages to be implemented. Right now we are doing the autoflight system but I wouldn't mind implementing the basics of the FMCs next. But we will see what comes up next. Would be nice if we could finish electric systems, too (APU and generators, etc.) and if we had a fully functioning fuel system with payload and fuel cut off for the engines. So there is a lot to do, I can't promise anything in terms of deadline though...

Cheers,
    Jan

• Thank you Jan for updating us!
    seems to be a lot of work to get the rad/nav page working.
    Would it be the same to get the nav button on the rmp's active and inserting a freq there?

I understand fully if this is not your highest priority right now as you are very busy working on autopilot functions.

Looking forward to your next update :D

• Would it be the same to get the nav button on the rmp's active and inserting a freq there?