Posts by G8tr

Great responses so far! Thanks. Most systems aren't available to buy just now, so I have time to finish my new pc build, tweak it, then see if I can persuade Mrs. Santa for something like the Rift S, or whatever is coming out around Black Friday with similar capabilities and reasonable price point.

This makes me sad to read that a 68 year old man says he might be too old to try something new. I hope your buttkicker wakes you up. I am 63 btw.

With you. I'm going on 72 and just investigating VR, and I've been dawdling with flight sims since 1984 and the old ATP sim. Looking for better ways of seeing what I've missed, then catching up!

I find myself having to build a new PC and am planning on components that should be good for games coming down the road (but affordable for an old retiree). I really like FS2, especially for the low, slow VFR experience. So this morning I get this wild thought: Would it be possible to go VR now? Can it be affordable (as in "selling it to wife.") Is it worth it? What brands seem to be well thought of? A lot of VR commenters here seem to really like it, while others seem to have tech issues.

I’d appreciate any VR recommendations/lesson learned/etc. you experienced VR folks would like to pass along. Especially like to know approx cost range to get a VR set up that works well enough.

If it helps, my new system specs include: MSI B450 mobo, AMD RYZEN 5 3600 CPU (3.6 to 4.2 GHz), Radeon RX-580 GPU (8gb VRAM), 16gb G.Skill DDR4 3200, 512gb SSD.

Thanks for any thoughts!