Posts by dbw

Thanks. Hope it happens. I'm a retired RW pilot (40 years) and I like your sim when I just want to go flying and enjoy the scenery and not get into the complexity of the P3d environment. For me the VOR range is the only thing detracting from the experience. I started flying back in the day where the VOR/DME/ADF was king and a GPS was a w@t dre@m. There was a rumor of something called NavStar back then that appeared a couple decades later as GPS. I flew lots with LORAN before GPS which was pretty cool in its day. Thank you for your consideration as a future improvement.

I stand by my statement above. . As to what this UK chart suggests please read it again then compare to my post above. This chart above is for certain UK VOR stations only. All real world VOR stations are not restricted to ranges of less than 60 miles.

If you choose to let thing stay as they are....well that is your choice. If I didn't care about this sim I would not spend my time bringing it to your attention.

Vor range can be 150+ miles if it is a high power airways VOR or should it be a lower powered terminal VOR is could be considerable less. Vor is line of sight. The way to determine range is the following formula: the square root of the height above the VOR station times 1.23. Example...the Vor is 1000' asl and an aircraft is flying at 11000' asl. The difference is 10000'. The square root of 10000 is 100...multiply by 1.23 and you come up with a possible range of 123 miles. As to mountainous areas check out the VOR near Eagle, Colorado.....DBL freq 113.0. It's on a mountain at 12000+'. In mountainous areas they are usually located up high. I flew for a living for 40 years till retiring a couple years ago. VOR range in Aerofly 2 is way below that in the real world. Please check this out with an aeronautical reference publication or someone that you trust.

Greetings.