Posts by kenventions

Jeff, I'm looking forward to your 1st post after you have tried a VR flightsim. The resolution will be one step back but the immersion is 10 steps forward!

It's amazing to be able to tilt your head back and see the over-head instruments or when flying an F-18 at the top of a loop (and upside-down), tilt your head back to spot the runway below you. I also notice I scan left/right out the windows more frequently in VR due to old habit from the Cessna flying lessons days - just wish there was some traffic in the pattern!

My system seems to work pretty well but of course there are some occasional problems. Like looking down to change a VOR frequency the hand may not be able to reach all the way down for some reason. Perhaps it is the where each controller is in the FOV.

There are some critical times, like raising the gear where trying to fly with hands and reaching across cockpit to raise the gear can get exciting.

Since I am fairly new to this, I had to understand some things. Such as the pads on the Odyssey control flight controls and brakes. If you let your fingers hit those, the airplane can do strange things.

Just finding out that pushing down on the left thumbstick puts you in the SteamVR portal and holding down the left pad for 3 seconds puts you into the Aerofly menu, helps greatly. I am hoping one day the flight info will be incorporated so it can be access from within the simulation.

My problem right now is clarity of instruments in VR mode. I am working on that but I have limited my use due to eye strain.. The Saitek X52 works great and the instruments are very clean in normal mode...

The clarity issue may just be VR versus your traditional 1080P monitor - today's VR won't be as sharp as a 1080P monitor.