Posts by HKATER

Yes fair point Frank, my flying nowadays is casual VFR. The xbox gives you by default on the heli (whatever the settings were determined by the game designer):

- Rudder (via the paddles at the back)

- Cyclic (via one stick, this would be aileron/elevator for fixed wing)

- Collective via a toggle switch (personally would rather this on the other stick like I do on radio control helos)

- Change of view (panning) via the other stick (like a hat switch function)

The first time I used an xbox controller on a PC years ago flying fixed wing I was very impressed. After years of using joysticks and the occassional rudder pedals (when they worked - I hate PC rudder pedals personally) I found it the closest experience to a real aircraft control (fixed wing - I have no real world heli experience). Never was happy with the twist action of the joystick for rudder control and found that a keyboard assignment for rudder worked best for me for crosswind landings. The ability to completely control an aircraft with two hands (rudder etc) on the xbox (just like in radio control models) won me over completely with the xbox. Its also cheaper than any controller I ever had and has never failed. I am a big fan.

Forgot to mention that the one hang up with the wireless controller and Aerofly is that you cannot change the view location once in the sim, you can only pan around. To change position from say external to internal cockpit view you have to disconnect the controller and set this in the simulator. When connected to the controller the sim will basically remember whatever the last position was, internal or external. If you have a favourite flying position then this is not a big deal and is easily adjustable.