Posts by tonywob

We haven't responded because we were all working hard to release a major update for the PC version. We will update the Mac version but have to navigate through a more difficult Apple update path.

.... Which begs the question on why the Apple App Store was chosen as a medium to distribute?. I'm no expert on marketing etc... but if it was on Steam in sync with the Windows version (for the same price and available as a multiplatform purchase) then surely you'd attract the Mac OS market share, just as Laminar Research did with X-Plane (and it's something like 30% of their userbase). I think the mistake is that you're treating Mac users differently, and LR don't.

I am not sure it was really a choice from LR to open source their scenery tools. AFAIR, they use libraries such as CGAL that are released under GPL, a contaminating licence, in their toolkit.

You can use GPL libraries in closed source software. If you modify the actual library then you have to give back the changes, but there is no restriction on using the actual libraries in payware software, so this wasn't the main reason AFAIK

As for Geoconvert, I agree with the original poster. What would be more preferrable I think is to have specifications for the various files and compressed image formats. Developers could compile their own program, by passing the SDK, then it would make the entire process much less painful.

Yes, I saw that site. I believe the data is already in X-Plane scenery format rather than raw images.

Technically it would be possible to extract it back to raw images, but in practice it's not really worth it.

Most of the tiles are quite old (2012) and only go to level 16, which is pretty quick to download with AeroScenery anyway.