3DSMax runway+taxiways and apron mesh creation

• Ah ! That's probably the point: "use the blend" is probably the step I was missing. Also, in order to prevent voids I had set a slight taxiway overlap on the runway, this is then something I should avoid...

Thank you for your help, I'll try this out and let you know.

Cheers

Antoine

Antoine,

Yes, overlapping can cause the quanify section to include the runway by accident.

If you get it really close you won't be able to tell the difference. Also, since most of the time the runway cement is different than the taxiways it will all end up looking good.

Once you get the hang of this I promise it's much easier than you think.

let me know how you make out.

IPACS Development Team Member

I'm just a cook, I don't own the restaurant.
    On behalf of Torsten, Marc, and the rest of the IPACS team, we would all like to thank you for your continued support.

Regards,

Jeff

• Thank you Jeff, that was it, removing the slight overlap fixed it.

But then I selected the runway, added EDIT SPLINE modifier and attached the outer boundary spline as well as taxiways and apron spline before to quadify mesh.

Is it the proper method or should I only attach runway and outer boundary?

I ask this because doing this the runway and taxiways and apron are now a hole in the mesh, I can fill up with EDIT POLY, CAP function, but:

1) the quadify mesh function cannot create a very consistent mesh whatever the % setting.

2) runway, taxiways and apron are now 1 single entity.

3) the chamfer tool creates a mess of black holes in my mesh.

If my previous steps are correct, I assume it's now time to manually cut further the mesh as per Steve's method before to add the chamfer.

I'm not sure then what he meant with anti-clockwise direction since cuts are according to a line...

Cheers

Antoine