External DLL Message Expansion?

• Hi all,

I've been looking at this external_dll example and this post: Is there a way to get VR head position and/or orientation ?

I'm wondering if the community could give some constructive feedback about the external_dll messages that could greatly increase the freedom of movement for extending functionality that add-ons can achieve? I'm new to all of this, but it would be interesting to e.g. able to have a plane specific FMS/FMC systems or in-depth propulsion systems management (simulating it in the DLL and sending back propulsion parameters in the sim). I'm seeing that there is a lot of community members that would love to help out devs, so IMHO it would make sense to ease access to such internal functions. Some very basic event system for e.g. injecting custom sounds (engine stop/start), simulation steps etc. would be awesome and would offload the devs, so if someone misses something, one would have the mechanisms to crerate it.

Hopefully no one finds this idea (too) naive or offensive.

Balazs

Best Regards

Balazs

Ryzen 2700X, HyperX 32GB, 2060 Super 8GB, win10/ubuntu19

Saitek X52 HOTAS, Logitech G920 pedals

freetrack/opentrack
    X-Plane 11, DCS modules: A-10C, Ka-50, FC3, Mirage 2000C, F/A-18C, Persian Gulf

• That's the path that leads to the dark side and crashes, out of memory exceptions, bad frame rates, instability, additional dependencies, installers, incompatibilities and so on which you see plenty of in other simulators. That is one of the main reasons Aerofly is running so well. We aim to avoid all this trouble by providing a programmable aircraft file structure, using the tmd file. We have a lot planned for the future just give us more time to implement more systems. We plan to implement more building blocks for the tmd like we did for the electric systems for example. In the future you might be able to program all kinds of systems without the need of a dll, just using the tmd file.