What is the best way to develop LARGE cultivation scenery?

• Hi all,

I am a FSX/P3D scenery developer and I found Aerofly FS2 very good to manage orthophoto scenery with cultivation.

What is the best way to develop large cultivation scenery? If I have a 1000 x 1000km area to "cultivate", I think that I have to subdivide the scenery into small cells.

Otherwise I risk of incurring in a memory corruption. I don't know how Aerofly FS2 loads and releases the cultivation in scenery.

Anyone can explain me?

• Aerofly in general can handle quite a lot of cultivation data, however, it's best to still spread out cultivation between sectors using airport TSC files. However, we have just rebuilt the graphics engine to handle much larger cultivation files from only one airport TSC.

If you opt to make one large TOC file make sure that you remember to edit the size of the 'size' parameter located in the TSC file as that it the distance in which Aerofly loads that airport and its data into memory. For example; 'size=5000' allows for Aerofly to load that data from an area 5000 meters from each direction of that airport.

Be sure to take a look at out tutorials on our WIKI under 'scenery development. Cultivation will be found under 'video tutorials'

IPACS Development Team Member

I'm just a cook, I don't own the restaurant.
    On behalf of Torsten, Marc, and the rest of the IPACS team, we would all like to thank you for your continued support.

Regards,

Jeff

• Thanks for the reply.

For example; 'size=5000' allows for Aerofly to load that data from an area 5000 meters from each direction of that airport.

I tried smallest size (size=1) but Aerofly still loads all cultivation.

it's best to still spread out cultivation between sectors using airport TSC files

Do these sectors have special characteristics? Or can I decide their characteristics (dimensions, place, etc...)? What happens if there are more sectors overlapping?