Making small high detail areas

• When you make small highly detailed areas like airports, do you run Geoconvert at levels starting all the way at level 9, or do you just do the run at level 14? This is assuming that less detailed Geoconvert scenery is already installed for the surrounding area.

• The best practice here is to run geoconvert with levels 9-15 (or 14 if you don't want higher quality flying at lower altitudes).

IPACS Development Team Member

I'm just a cook, I don't own the restaurant.
    On behalf of Torsten, Marc, and the rest of the IPACS team, we would all like to thank you for your continued support.

Regards,

Jeff

• I would but it wouldn't make a whole lot of difference.

I believe that many people omit level 10 because level 10 wasn't included in the tutorial on the wiki.

The only thing that you would notice by eliminating level 10 would be a quick flash seen when zooming in on the location map.

When we make DLC scenery we use all levels 9-15

On behalf of Torsten, Marc, and the rest of the IPACS team, we would all like to thank you for your continued support.

Regards,

Jeff

• So, always run from 9-14. OK.

Do you recommend level 10? Many people seem to omit it.

Since there's no clear adjustable display priority but compilation level, I would recommend not to omit level 15 for your local AD background. As far as I could notice so far (trial and error), this ensures your local AD tile to display on top of your geoconverted scenery if the later was compiled up to level 14. This is especially useful if both are not the same material, which is for instance typically the case when adding something to the Swiss DLC based on aerial photography material of the early 90's.

Level 10 doesn't bring too much as far as I could notice. Level 9 is displayed at very far distance and, pretty soon, level 11 gets loaded and smoothly displayed.

My 2 cents

Antoine