Is there a way to get VR head position and/or orientation ?

• Hi guys,

I'm playing a bit with the external_dll given with the SDK in order to gather data from the simulation, and I 'm wondering if there was a way to get head orientation and/or position when we use VR ? Because I found some variables about that, but it's only setters, not getters ...

Have a nice day,

Dalfrak

Have a nice day,

Dalfrak

• If you are using the touch or vive controllers (VR Hands) you can re-center your view by pressing the menu button on the controller SEE HERE

You can also bind the 'reposition view in VR' to any key or button of not using the motion controllers to fly.

IPACS Development Team Member

I'm just a cook, I don't own the restaurant.
    On behalf of Torsten, Marc, and the rest of the IPACS team, we would all like to thank you for your continued support.

Regards,

Jeff

• Thank you for your reply.

I already checked the wiki, and I already bound this key. That was not really my question btw. I wanted to ask if I could gather head position and/or orientation (both would be the best) with the external_dll from the SDK, like I'm gathering longitude, latitude, altitude, speed ... with the tools provided by this DLL.

I don't know if my question was clear, I'm french and I don't even know how to clearly explain my problem in french ^^'

Have a nice day,

Dalfrak

Have a nice day,

Dalfrak

Edited 3 times, last by Dalfrak (April 27, 2018 at 9:05 AM).

• Dalfrak,

yes, this is possible, but its not officially documented as you can break the simulator with it if you do anything wrong here:

• Thank you !! That's exactly what I was searching for ! :)

Now I have one more question about the vr_head_orientation_quaternion variable.

vr_head_orientation_quaternion is a quaternion, so it has a r, a x, a y and a z attribute. Could you (or someone else) explain me what is the r attribute ?