Takeoff weight option?

• The beta 737 FMC seems to suggest a (landing optimised) take off weight of 43,600 kg.

It is really light for a take off, using the 737 Technical Site's data for an undefined 737 I got a V1 of about 120 knots and a V2 of about 131 knots with a take off distance of somewhere about 3,700 feet for sea level at 15 degrees C and with a 10 knot headwind using the 737 site's comprehensive Takeoff Field Limit Graph.

Petaluma in California's Runway 29 has a handy 3.600 feet runway and the light 737 sailed off early on full thrust, even on this exceptionally short runway.

Would it be possible to offer a much heavier option for simulating take offs?

• On my PC and old Aerofly 1 (F18), I used to go into the data file and mod the inertias (I think there were 2 or 3 to change from memory) to increase the aircraft weight. The AOA would sometimes get a bit messed up but it worked. It was never perfect but I have been modding aircraft weights for about 20 years on every sim I have. On aerofly 1 the files were able to be modified. Not sure about now?

You might want to try that out. Just a thought.

Another option is to mod the maximum thrust (lower it). But with aerofly I moded inertias directly. By doing a de-rated takeoff you can simulate a heavier weight as well (as a rough approximation).

Favourite album: In The Aeroplane Over The Sea

My ride: MB339, B744, Aerofly FS Global, Ipad Pro 2022/11 1TB ipadOS17

XBox Series X/S wireless controller (model 1914)

Edited once, last by HKATER (May 7, 2023 at 1:16 AM).

• Thanks HKATER, I’d been trying a suck it and see reduced thrust for a while, it is hard to know what Aerofly -500 features are effective and which are a still welcome, visual changes of state only. Adjusting the sim performance files might leave the big picture out of balance, the FMC data would or might also need modification.